Thank You, Madonna. Now, Please Stop.

6 Feb

Let me start by saying I’m a fan.  I like Madonna.  She’s without a doubt the most important female pop musician of the 80’s and is only bested perhaps by Michael Jackson.  She’s arguably the most important woman ever in pop.  These are things that just can’t be denied.

On a more personal note, Madonna kind of served as one of my first celebrity crushes (along with Annie Lennox).  That is to say she helped shape my view of the world in a rather significant way.  After all, my very first memory of seeing something sexy and understanding that it was indeed something arousing was her performance of “Like a Virgin” on MTV’s Video Music Awards in 1994.  That was and has been a touch stone in my sexuality ever since.

And the music, while rarely mind-blowing, was at least throughout the 80’s and early 90’s acceptably dance-worthy, fun, and addictive.  Not to mention that you never mistook her voice for someone else.

But now, after nearly 30 years of legitimate fame, Madonna is just terrible.

I can’t discount the fact that she has continued to be successful.  After all, she’s sold around 45 Million albums since 1998, when Ray of Light was released; an album I thought was completely hollow and marked her transition from a legitimate singer and performer to producer and little more.  So I can admit that I’m probably in the minority.

But watching her performance last night at the Super Ball was embarrassing.

A few words I’d used to describe her medley-set include:

Sluggish

Uninspired

Half-assed

Stiff

Manufactured

I didn’t feel like I was watching a superstar.  Rather, I felt like I was watching someone who can no longer command the attention of an audience alone.  Where once Madonna was the focus even in a huge crowd of dancers and other performers, today she’s just part of the overall show.  Dare I say, her brand name is really all she has today that sets her apart from the sea of vapid pop-stars old and young.

I guess I’ll have to learn to live with her.  She doesn’t appear willing to walk away when there’s more money to be made.

Photo courtesy Reuters via ibntimes.co.uk

2 Responses to “Thank You, Madonna. Now, Please Stop.”

  1. Jim Cofer February 7, 2012 at 8:22 am #

    You obviously haven’t seen enough of her live shows. They’re always over the top like that.

    • scottgoins February 7, 2012 at 9:00 am #

      Not really. I mean every live performance I’ve seen her do has been over the top like that in terms of HUGE cast of supporting dancers, background singers, and myriad other performers.

      What gets me is that in all of those other shows, I always felt like she was the only real star on the stage. She *was* the focal point and when she wasn’t visible for a second due to a costume change or something, you actually wondered where she was because you actually noticed she was missing.

      However, at least for me, she didn’t seem to command the same amount of attention, even with her baphomet-praise-be-the-new-world-order headdress.

      I think part of it is just that I expect so much from her, and when it’s lacking I notice in a big way.

Leave a Reply

